Historical Society


“As the most prosperous part of the whole Acadian country in French times, and as the scene of conspicuous events at the tragical period of the Acadian expulsion, King’s County, Nova Scotia, will always have a wider interest for the world than is possible with most rural localities.”
Arthur Wentworth Hamilton Eaton, “The History of Kings County”

Kings County was created in 1759, as were the townships of Cornwallis and Horton. It was not until 1770 that the Township of Aylesford was created, being made up of parts of Cornwallis and Horton. All three townships were dissolved in 1879. The town of Kentville was incorporated in 1886, the town of Wolfville in 1893 and the town of Berwick in 1926.

The Kings Historical Society, established in 1978, acquired the near-century old Kings County Courthouse and renovated it so that it could be used as a county museum. This courthouse was the seat of justice and municipal government from 1903 to 1980. The Society provides ongoing administrative and financial support to the Museum.

Our mandate is to preserve and promote the cultural and natural history of Kings County for present and future generations.

Become a member
We invite you to help support the Kings Historical Society and the Kings County Museum by becoming a member. As a paid up member you will receive 2 newsletters per year, entrance to our Community and Family History Research Centre at no charge (non members are charged $5.00 per day) and photocopying at $.25 per page (non members pay $.40 per page). We also try to keep our members up to date on museum events. Our annual membership is based on the calendar year and fees are: $20.00 per individual and $25.00 for family or organization. If you would like to join the Kings Historical Society you can pay by cash, cheque (payable to Kings Historical Society) Visa, Master Card or money order.


Our monthly meetings
The Kings Historical Society meets at the Museum on the last Tuesday of each month at 7:30 pm (no meetings during June, July or August.) Guest speakers are featured each month, refreshments are served and the public is invited to attend.

The Community and Family History Committee meets on the 2nd Wednesday of each month at 1:30 pm on the Museum’s lower level (from April-Nov).

Community and Family History Group

spacerKelly Bourassa

Board of Directors

  • President: Kelly Bourassa
  • Vice President: Vacant
  • Secretary: Jean Gibson-Collins
  • Treasurer:¬†Karl Larson
  • Director: John Dow
  • Director:¬† Chris Gertridge
  • Director: Kim Troop
  • Director: Phil Volger
  • Director: Kathrin Grace
  • Director: Carmen Legge
  • Director: Judith Norton
  • Director: Justine MacDonald
  • Director: Ken Belfountain


Kate MacInnes-AdamsStaff

  • Curator: Bria Stokesbury
  • Office Manager: Kate MacInnes-Adams

Interested in reading more about the Society? Our reports and newsletters are available to read – click here